You are here


Euro coins are a national competence of the euro area Member States, but the European Central Bank must approve the volume of coins issued.

In Portugal, euro coins are issued by the State, through the Ministry of Finance’s Directorate General of Treasury and Finance, minted by the Portuguese Mint and Official Printing Office and put into circulation by Banco de Portugal.