You are here

Advisory Board of the Banco de Portugal

The Advisory Board is chaired by the Governor, and is composed of the Vice-Governors, the former Governors, the Chairman of the Board of Auditors of the Bank, four members of recognised standing and professional experience in economic-financial and business matters, the Chairman of the Portuguese Banking Association, the Chairman of the Portuguese Treasury and Government Debt Management Agency and representatives of the Autonomous Regions of the Azores and Madeira appointed by the respective autonomous management bodies.

The Advisory Board issues non-binding opinions on the Annual Report of Banco de Portugal, the performance of the Bank arising from its tasks, and on subjects submitted to it by the Governor or by the Board of Directors.

Members of the Advisory Board 



Mário Centeno


Luís Augusto Máximo dos Santos 

Clara Patrícia Costa Raposo


Former Governors 

Carlos da Silva Costa

Vítor Manuel Ribeiro Constâncio

António José Fernandes de Sousa


Chairman of the Board of Auditors 

Óscar Manuel Machado Figueiredo


Chairman of the Portuguese Banking Association

Vítor Augusto Brinquete Bento

Chairman of the Portuguese Treasury and Debt Management Agency

Juan Miguel Martín Iglesias

Representatives of the Autonomous Regions

Duarte Nuno D'Ávila Martins de Freitas (Autonomous Region of the Azores)

Rogério de Andrade Gouveia (Autonomous Region of Madeira)