You are here

Conference on Bank Competition: Financial Stability and Regulatory Implications

06 Jul. 2007
The Banco de Portugal Conference on Bank Competition will be held in Porto, July 6-7, 2007. The Conference aims at bringing together economists to discuss research on Financial Stability and Regulatory Implications.

The Organizer Committee for the Conference is composed by João Santos of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, Luísa Farinha and Nuno Ribeiro of Banco de Portugal.

The Conference venue is the Hotel Le Meridien Park Atlantic Porto, located in Porto, Portugal's second largest city. The historical centre of the city was classified by UNESCO as a World Heritage.
Friday, July 6
09.30 - 09.50 Opening address

Session 1: Systemic Risk
10.00 - 10.50 Failure in the Market for Liquidity Transfers and the Origins of Central Banking
Viral Acharya (London Business School)
Denis Gromb (London Business School)
Tanju Yorulmazer
Discussant: Anjan Thakor (Washington University)
10.50 - 11.40 The Formation of Financial Networks
Ana Babus (Erasmus University Rotterdam)
Discussant: Charles Kahn (University of Illinois)
11:40 - 12:10 Coffee
12:10 - 13:00 The Achilles' Heel of Interbank Markets: Financial Contagion due to Interbank Linkages
Rajkamal Iyer (University of Amsterdam)
José Luis Peydró-Alcalde (European Central Bank)
Discussant: Jan Pieter Krahnen (Goethe University)
13:00 - 14:00 Lunch

Session 2: Bank Capital Regulation
14:00 - 14:50 The Procyclical Effects of Basel II
Rafael Repullo (CEMFI)
Javier Suarez (CEMFI)
Discussant: Lucy White (Harvard Business School and University of Lausanne)
14:50 - 15:40 Competition and Entry in Banking: Implications for Capital Regulation
Arnoud Boot (University of Amsterdam)
Matej Marinc (University of Ljubljana)
Discussant: Douglas Gale (New York University)
15:40 - 16:10 Coffee
16:10 - 17:00 Credit Market Competition and Capital Regulation
Franklin Allen (University of Pennsylvania)
Elena Carletti (Center for Financial Studies)
Robert Marquez (University of Maryland)
Discussant: Alan Morrison (University of Oxford)
19.30 Cocktail and Dinner

Saturday, July 7

Session 3: Bank Competition
10:00 - 10:50 Bank Competition, Risk, and Asset Allocations: New Theory and New Evidence
John H. Boyd (University of Minnesota)
Gianni De Nicolò (International Monetary Fund)
Abu M. Jalal (University of Minnesota)
Discussant: Rafael Repullo (CEMFI)
10:50 - 11:40 How does Competition Impact Bank Risk Taking?
Gabriel Jiménez (Bank of Spain)
José A. Lopez (Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco)
Jesús Saurina-Salas (Bank of Spain)
Discussant: António Antunes (Banco de Portugal)
11:40 - 12:10 Coffee
12:10 - 13:00 The Cost of Banking Regulation
Luigi Guiso (University of Sassari)
Paola Sapienza (Northwestern University)
Luigi Zingales (University of Chicago)
Discussant: Andrew Winton (University of Minnesota)
13.00 Lunch

Margarida Abreu (Instituto Superior de Economia e Gestão)

Viral Acharya (London Business School)

Franklin Allen (University of Pennsylvania)

Nuno Alves (Banco de Portugal)

Paula Antão (Banco de Portugal)

António Antunes (Banco de Portugal) 

Ana Babus (Erasmus University Rotterdam)

Luciana Barbosa (Banco de Portugal)

Arnoud Boot (University of Amsterdam)

John H. Boyd (University of Minnesota) 

Miguel Boucinha (Banco de Portugal)

Luísa Farinha (Banco de Portugal) 

João Freitas (Banco de Portugal) 

Douglas Gale (New York University) 

Charles Kahn (University of Illinois) 

Jan Pieter Krahnen (Goethe University)

Ana Lacerda (Banco de Portugal) 

Ana Cristina Leal  (Banco de Portugal) 

Joana Matos (Banco de Portugal) 

Alan Morrison (University of Oxford)

Álvaro Nascimento  (Universidade Católica Portuguesa)

Sara Noorali (Banco de Portugal) 

José Luís Peydró-Alcalde (European Central Bank)

Clara Costa Raposo (Instituto Superior de Ciências do Trabalho e da Empresa)

Rafael Repullo (CEMFI) 

Nuno Ribeiro (Banco de Portugal) 

João Santos (Federal Reserve Bank of New York) 

Mário João Santos  (Universidade Católica Portuguesa) 

Paola Sapienza (Northwestern University)

Jesús Saurina-Salas (Bank of Spain) 

Ana Paula Serra (Universidade do Porto) 

Maria Clara Soares (Banco de Portugal)

Javier Suarez (CEMFI) 

Anjan Thakor (Washington University) 

Lucy White (Harvard Business School and University of Lausanne) 

Andrew Winton (University of Minnesota)