• A
    • A
    • A
  • RSS
  • Português
  • Glossary
  • Links
  • Contacts

Menu de contexto

Former Governors

Anterior Page 1 of 2 Seguinte
Image containing the Governor António Augusto Pereira de Miranda
(Coimbra, 1838-Lisbon,1922)

Governor (1887-1891) , Businessman; Politician; Deputy; Purveyor of Santa Casa da Misericórdia de Lisboa (Lisbon’s almshouse); President of the Board of Directors of the Railway Company; Peer of the Realm; Minister of the Public Treasury.
Painter: João Reis, 1969
Image of the Governor Pedro Augusto de Carvalho
(Lisbon, 1841-1894)
Governor (1891-1894) , Politician; Deputy for the town of Ponta Delgada; Jurist; Director of Caixa Geral de Depósitos (Savings Bank); Director-General of the Contributions; Deputy Attorney General of the Crown; Auditor of the Public Credit Board.
Painter: Agostinho Salgado, 1969
Governor Júlio Marques de Vilhena
(Ferreira do Alentejo, 1845-1928)
Governor (1895-1907) – Politician (‘Partido Regenerador’), Peer of the Realm, Jurist, Member and President of the Royal Academy of Sciences, Editor of ‘Jornal Económico’ and ‘Diário Popular’, Minister for the Navy and the Overseas and Minister for Justice and Ecclesiastical Affairs, Judge of the Supreme Administrative Court and President of the Navy League.
Painter: Eduardo Malta, 1969
Governor José Adofo de Mello e Souisa
(Figueira da Foz, 1858-1925)
Governor (1907-1910) , Businessman and financier; President of the Lisbon Trade Association; Deputy for the village of Arganil; Peer of the Realm; State Advisor; Director of Banco Comercial; Director of Fidelidade Insurance Company; Member of Partido Regenerador Liberal.
Painter: Rui Preto Pacheco, 1969
Governor Inocêncio Camacho Rodrigues
(Moura, 1867-1943 )

Governor (1911-1936) , Politician; Professor of the Faculty of Sciences; Journalist; Director-General of the Public Treasury; Minister of Finance; Deputy; Journalist-contributor to the newspapers "A Luta" and "A Pátria".
Painter: Abel Manta, 1969
Governor Rafael da Silva Neves Duque
(Torres Novas, 1893-1969)

Governor (1957-1963) , Lawyer; Politician; Minister of Agriculture; Minister of the Economy; (interim) Minister of Commerce and Industry.
Painter: Henrique Medina, 1969
Governor António Manuel Pinto Barbosa

(Murtosa, 1917-2006)

Governor (1966-1974) , Economist; University Professor; Minister of Finance (1955-1965); representative of Portugal at the World Bank (1961-1966) and at the International Monetary Fund (1966-1974). Full member of the Academy of Sciences of Lisbon.

Painter: Henrique Medina, 1975
Governor Manuel Jacinto Nunes
(Lisbon, 1926-2014)

Vice-Governor (1960-1974); Interim Governor (1963-1966); Governor (1974-1975, 1980-1985) , Economist; Full Professor; Member of the Board of Caixa Geral de Depósitos (1976-1980); Vice-Prime Minister for Economic Affairs and European Integration; Minister of Finance and of the Plan. Governor for Portugal at the International Monetary Fund (1960-1985). President of the Class of Letters of the Academy of Sciences of Lisbon (1980-1985); President of the Academy of Sciences of Lisbon (1980, 1982-1984); Vice-President of the Society of Geography of Lisbon (1974-1979); President of the Portuguese-British Chamber of Commerce. He was member of the Advisory Board of the Banco de Portugal.
Painter: Sá Nogueira, 1985
Governor José da Silva Lopes
(Seiça, 1932 - Lisbon, 2015)
Governor (1975-80) - Economist; Minister of Finance and of the Plan (1978); Member of the Board of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) (1980); Portugal’s representative at the World Bank; Counsultant of Caixa Geral de Depósitos; Chairman of the 10th Committee created to examine non-financial state-owned enterprises (1981). He was member of the Advisory Board of Banco de Portugal.
Painter: Lima de Freitas, 1985
Governor Vítor Manuel Ribeiro Constâncio
(Lisbon, 1943)

He was Governor of the Banco de Portugal from 1985 to 1986 and from February 2000 to May 2010. He is Vice-President of the European Central Bank (June 2010).
Graduated in Economics from the Universidade Técnica de Lisboa (Lisbon Technical University). Before having been appointed to his present position at the Banco de Portugal, he was Executive Director of the Banco Português de Investimento (1995-2000) and non-executive Director of the Electricidade de Portugal (EDP), the Portuguese national power utility (1998-2000). He is a member of the Conselho de Estado, an advisory body to the President of the Republic. He is Invited Senior Professor of Economics at the Instituto Superior de Economia e Gestão (Technical University of Lisbon) since 1989, culminating a long academic career. In addition to having performed functions as Secretary of State for the Budget and Planning in the first two Provisional Governments (1974-1975), he was again Secretary of State for the Budget and Planning for the IV Provisional Government in 1976. He was elected Member of Parliament in 1976, and was again Member of Parliament from 1980 to 1981 and from 1987 to 1988. He started his activity at the Banco de Portugal in 1975, as Head of the Economic Studies and Research Department. He was appointed Vice-Governor in 1977, a position which he would resume later in 1979 and in the period from 1981 to 1984. In 1977, he was appointed President of the Commission for European Integration, a post which he occupied again in 1979. He was Minister of Finance and Budget Planning of the II Constitutional Government in 1978.
Painter: Luís Pinto Coelho, 1987
Anterior Page 1 of 2 Seguinte